4121 Miller-Paul Road
Galena, OH 43021
Phone: 740-965-3200
Fax: 740-965-3986
Hours: 

8:45am - 3:35pm

quick links
Hylen Souders Elementary School
search our site
Welcome to the Hylen Souders Elementary School website!
 
This website will provide the students, parents and community with information and school news. You will be able to find a myriad of information including, but not limited to: contact information, teacher websites, bell schedules, lunch menus & activity schedules. This site was designed for you to become acquainted with our school, its policies and the many wonderful things that are happening at Hylen Souders Elementary.
 
Our school has a rich tradition of academic excellence. Our staff takes great pride in providing the children of Big Walnut area with classes that both challenge and excite the learner. In addition, our entire staff is committed to ensuring a safe learning environment that allows our students to thrive and to grow socially, emotionally and academically. We are proud of our academic record and excellence, and are looking forward to a fantastic 2014-2015 school year!
 
Megan Forman
Principal
Hylen Souders Elementary Sch
ool
In The News Subscribe to RSS News Feed
Souders Health Fair
Thanks to our district nurse for coordinating with Otterbein to bring our Souders' students it's first HealthFair!
Sunbury-Galena Rotary Club Welcomes the Harlem Wizards
Sunbury-Galena Rotary Club welcomes the world-famous Harlem Wizard team, with their tricks, hoops and alley oops basketball style ...
Big Walnut Local School District Storage Facility
Big Walnut Local School District can help you with your winter storage needs! It's not too late, there are still spots availab...
What is a Waiver Day?
Many parents, students, and community members want to know...what is a waiver day anyway?  Waiver days are days where there a...
Coffee Chat
Do you have questions about our district? Would you like to have a Q&A session with the Superintendent, Treasurer, and Assista...
Other News
school events
Friday, 11/21/2014
Interims Distributed (optional)
Friday, 11/21/2014 - 9:15 AM
1st to Library
11/26/2014 - 11/28/2014
NO SCHOOL- Holiday
Monday, 12/1/2014
NO SCHOOL- Teacher PD Day
Saturday, 12/6/2014 - 9:00 AM
Santa breakfast
12/8/2014 - 12/12/2014
AimsWeb Screening
Thursday, 12/11/2014 - 6:30 PM
School Board Meeting
Sunday, 12/14/2014 - 3:00 PM
Toys for Tots Skate Party
@Sunbury Skate Club
12/16/2014 - 12/17/2014
Holiday shop
@Eagles Nest
Tuesday, 12/16/2014 - 7:30 AM
Coffee Chat
@Sunbury Grill
Wednesday, 12/17/2014 - 7:30 AM
Staff Meeting
Thursday, 12/18/2014
2nd Quarter Ends
Thursday, 12/18/2014 - 2:45 PM
Winter Parties
Friday, 12/19/2014
NO SCHOOL- Teacher Work Day
12/22/2014 - 1/2/2015
NO SCHOOL- Holiday
Monday, 1/5/2015
3rd Quarter Begins
Tuesday, 1/6/2015 - 6:30 PM
PTO meeting
Thursday, 1/8/2015 - 6:30 PM
School Board Meeting
Friday, 1/9/2015
Report Cards Distributed
Saturday, 1/10/2015 - 7:00 PM
Souders' Columbus Blue Jackets Event
Monday, 1/19/2015
NO SCHOOL- Holiday
Tuesday, 1/20/2015
RtI groups Resume
1/20/2015 - 1/23/2015
Right to Read-ReadAThon
Tuesday, 1/20/2015 - 7:30 AM
Coffee Chat
@Transportation Building Conf. Room
Wednesday, 1/21/2015 - 7:30 AM
Staff Meeting
school calendar
2014/2015 District Calendar
Board approved school calendar for 2014/2015
2013-2014 Calendar
Board approved 2013-2014 school calendar