301 South Miller Drive
Sunbury, OH 43074
Phone: 740-965-8900
Fax: 740-965-8993
Hours: 

8:45am - 3:35pm

quick links
General Rosecrans Elementary
search our site

Welcome to General Rosecrans Elementary!

We are proud of our school’s academic achievements as a school of Excellence with Distinction. Equally as important, we pride ourselves in offering a challenging and safe learning environment where all students are nurtured academically, socially, and emotionally. As a staff, we are committed to inspiring and guiding each student to his or her maximum potential.

As a school community, we understand how essential it is for families and the school to partner together. In an effort to keep you informed, we encourage you to sign up for “Eagle-i” on the left side of this page and to visit our "Online Classrooms" regularly. Bridging the gap between home and school is a vital key to each child achieving their maximum potential, and we appreciate your support!  

As a thirteen year member of Big Walnut Schools, it will be a joy to work with familiar faces and get to know new ones.   Please don’t hesitate to contact me via email or phone if I can help you in any way.   Here’s to a great school year and the beginning of a great working relationship!  May we all work together to inspire and guide one another.

Have a wonderful summer!

Megan Rose Forman 
Principal 
General Rosecrans Elementary School

In The News Subscribe to RSS News Feed
GRE News 2015-2016
Click here for updates and upcoming event information for the beginning of the 2015-2016 school year!
Popsicles with the Principal
Come meet your new principal and enjoy a frozen treat!
School Supply Lists 2015-2016
2015-2016 Student Supply lists are ready!
GRE Weekly Wrap-Up
GRE Weekly Wrap-Up
Preschool Peer Registration-Now Open
Preschool Peer Registration Packet is now available for the 2015-2016 School Year.
Kroger Rewards
GRE is enrolled in Kroger's Community Rewards Program. This program will link purchases made with your Kroger'...
Other News
school events
Tuesday, 8/11/2015 - 3:00 PM
Class Lists posted
Thursday, 8/13/2015 - 6:30 PM
School Board Meeting
Thursday, 8/13/2015 - 8:00 AM
Teacher Prof Day
Friday, 8/14/2015 - 8:00 AM
Teacher Work Day
Friday, 8/14/2015 - 3:00 PM
Meet & Greet
Monday, 8/17/2015
First Day of School: 1st-4th
Monday, 8/17/2015 - 8:30 AM
Kinder Assessment
Tuesday, 8/18/2015 - 8:30 AM
Kinder Assessment
Wednesday, 8/19/2015 - 8:30 AM
Kinder Assessment
8/20/2015 - 8/26/2015
AIMSweb Screening
Thursday, 8/20/2015
First Day of School: Prek & K
Thursday, 8/20/2015 - 7:00 PM
GRE PTO Meeting
Tuesday, 8/25/2015 - 6:00 PM
Curriculum Night
Wednesday, 9/2/2015
Interventions Begin
Monday, 9/7/2015
NO SCHOOL: Labor Day
Thursday, 9/10/2015
Picture Day
Thursday, 9/10/2015 - 6:30 PM
School Board Meeting
Thursday, 9/17/2015 - 7:00 PM
GRE PTO Meeting
Friday, 9/18/2015
Interims Distributed
Monday, 9/21/2015
NO SCHOOL: Teacher Workday
9/21/2015 - 9/25/2015
Homecoming Spirit Week
Friday, 9/25/2015
Homecoming Parade and Game
Sunday, 10/4/2015
Big Nut Strut
Thursday, 10/8/2015 - 6:30 PM
School Board Meeting
Wednesday, 10/14/2015
Picture Retake Day
school calendar
2015/2016 School Calendar
Board approved school calendar for 2015/2016