301 South Miller Drive
Sunbury, OH 43074
Phone: 740-965-8900
Fax: 740-965-8993
Hours: 

8:45am - 3:35pm

quick links
search our site

Welcome to General Rosecrans Elementary!

We are proud of our school’s academic achievements as a school of Excellence with Distinction. Equally as important, we pride ourselves in offering a challenging and safe learning environment where all students are nurtured academically, socially, and emotionally. As a staff, we are committed to inspiring and guiding each student to his or her maximum potential.

As a school community, we understand how essential it is for families and the school to partner together. In an effort to keep you informed, we encourage you to sign up for “Eagle-i” on the left side of this page and to visit our "Online Classrooms" regularly. Bridging the gap between home and school is a vital key to each child achieving their maximum potential, and we appreciate your support!  

As a thirteen year member of Big Walnut Schools, it will be a joy to work with familiar faces and get to know new ones.   Please don’t hesitate to contact me via email or phone if I can help you in any way.   Here’s to a great school year and the beginning of a great working relationship!  May we all work together to inspire and guide one another.

Looking forward to a fabulous 2015-2016 school year!

Megan Rose Forman 
Principal 
General Rosecrans Elementary School

In The News Subscribe to RSS News Feed
GRE Weekly Wrap, September 4, 2015
Here is the September 4, 2015 weekly edition.
Curriculum Night Success!
Click here to view the presentation from Curriculum Night!
GRE Weekly Wrap
The GRE Weekly Wrap for August 14 is ready in the "Newsletters" tab.
2015/2016 Bell Times
Please see the attached article for 2015/2016 bell times, which are the same as 2014/2015.
School Supply Lists 2015-2016
2015-2016 Student Supply lists are ready!
Other News
school events
Monday, 9/7/2015
NO SCHOOL: Labor Day
Tuesday, 9/8/2015
Interventions Begin
Thursday, 9/10/2015
Picture Day
Thursday, 9/10/2015 - 6:30 PM
School Board Meeting
Thursday, 9/17/2015
Constitution Day-celebrate!
Thursday, 9/17/2015 - 7:00 PM
GRE PTO Meeting
Monday, 9/21/2015
NO SCHOOL: Teacher Workday
9/21/2015 - 9/25/2015
Homecoming Spirit Week
Thursday, 9/24/2015 - 2:45 PM
Homecoming Pep Rally
Friday, 9/25/2015
Homecoming Parade and Game
Monday, 9/28/2015 - 6:00 PM
GRE Skate Party
Sunday, 10/4/2015
Big Nut Strut
Thursday, 10/8/2015 - 6:30 PM
School Board Meeting
Wednesday, 10/14/2015
Picture Retake Day
Thursday, 10/15/2015 - 7:00 PM
GRE PTO Meeting
Friday, 10/16/2015
End of First Quarter
10/22/2015 - 10/29/2015
Book Fair
Monday, 10/26/2015 - 4:00 PM
Parent/Teacher Conferences
Tuesday, 10/27/2015 - 2:45 PM
Kdg - Harvest Party
Wednesday, 10/28/2015
Kindergarten ONLY - No School
Wednesday, 10/28/2015 - 2:45 PM
Harvest Parties - (1st - 4th gr. )
Wednesday, 10/28/2015 - 4:00 PM
Parent / Teacher Conferences
Thursday, 10/29/2015
NO SCHOOL
Thursday, 10/29/2015 - 8:00 AM
Parent / Teacher Conferences
Friday, 10/30/2015
NO SCHOOL
school calendar
2015/2016 School Calendar
Board approved school calendar for 2015/2016